Roving Reporters Review…Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

Our Summer Interns will be Acting as Roving Reporters this summer- finding new and exciting arts events to feature. First up in this series- Intern Laura Romer reviews Musician Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. –S. Gidseg

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

I first heard of the band Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros after one of my friends told me about them the day before Spring Break.  “Edward Sharpe.  With an E.  They’re completely amazing.  And they drive around in this old, white school bus.”

I watched the folksy, feel good music video for their song “Home” (which sure enough, featured that old, white school bus), and I was completely hooked.  Soon after, I started hearing the song being played by students sitting around campus, strumming along on the guitar.

Summer came and so did my search for a concert that would fit my lack-of-summer-job budget.  Enter La Zona Rosa on a Tuesday night plus a friend from San Antonio.

We got to the sold-out show and waited for the opening act – Aaron Embry.  He played on this old-timey sounding piano and it reminded me of the ones you’d hear in a Western saloon.   More and more members from Edward Sharpe joined him, including singing a “Love Song for BP.”

Break for what would be a long intermission.

After waiting, and more waiting…and even more waiting (seriously, these guys are not *that* famous yet), Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros finally decided to take to the stage.   As soon as “40 Day Dream” started, I forgot about my feet hurting, the long waiting, and my overpriced can of Shiner.

Edward Sharpe himself came out dressed in tan pants with just a blazer and a bright red scarf on top, but his crazy hair and beard were his most recognizable features.  By the end of the first song, Sharpe threw off his coat.  Complaining it was too hot he said, “Good thing I came prepared.  With my skiiiiin.”

The band’s ten members, who all sang, had an array of instruments, including an accordion, a trumpet, and an absurd amount of tambourines.   I didn’t even know that they made tambourines of that über size.

Some bands don’t do well live, but Edward Sharpe sounded better live than on the CD.  While he gave a very theatrical performance (read: lots of flailing), it all felt spontaneous.  And it made everyone want to dance/flail themselves.

Nearing the end of the set, the crowd recognized a familiar whistling.  It was the start of “Home” and definitely became the highlight of my night.

“Om Nashi Me” closed the show, and my friend had to drive back to San Antonio that night because she had to work early the next morning so we ducked out before any sort of encore performance.  Unfortunate, because I heard it was a good one.

Yes, Edward Sharpe comes across as a very unstable personality.  No, I don’t understand what all his lyrics mean – I’m not sure even everyone in the band does.  But my friend summed it up when she said, “They looked like they were having so much fun!”  And so did I.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , by nowplayingaustin. Bookmark the permalink.

About nowplayingaustin

The Austin Creative Alliance is a nonprofit performing arts service organization working to cultivate an environment where the performing arts can grow and flourish. We serve over 130 arts organizations with marketing, ticketing, audience development services; AEA paymaster, information & referral services — plus access to affordable health, liability, and event insurance. We also provide online professional development seminars, fiscal sponsorship services for emerging arts groups, host annual unified general auditions, annual theatre industry awards, and consistently advocate for the many benefits the arts bring to our quality of life.

Leave a Reply

