The Skin of Our Teeth: A- Team Full Review

Full review of The Skin of Our Teeth by A Team member John Medberry

Setting out to see the Different Stages production of The Skin of Our Teeth by Thornton Wilder, I had misgivings. I’ve seen the story before and really liked it. At the time, the Eighties, it seemed really relevant. So, for me, I gritted my teeth and set off to see it at the Vortex. My thought was, even if the production was poor, I could perhaps relive some of the relevance of the Eighties.

Well, let me tell, you, Norman Blumensaadt knew better than I. As I was slowly drawn into the story by character break and the audio/visuals above, I found that perhaps, The Skin of Our teeth is more relevant today than in prior times. Throughout, we are drawn in by the archetypes, that really well played by the ensemble cast. For me, Act I spoke to me more than it did twenty some years ago due to the evolution of my spiritual and religious convictions. Act II spoke to me more, from the distance of years, as I am now a married man with children too. And Act III, which always seemed post-apocalyptic/post-nuclear, well now it seems to address every era with a war, which sadly means, every era.

This was a very enjoyable production, good for a date and plenty of conversation afterwards! Amy Lewis (Sabina), who has been quite prolific this year, really brought a strength and depth of skill that was hinted at in other productions. Michael Hankin (Mr. Antrobus) dynamic voicing and varied tactics are engaging and very well developed. Mr. Hankin was a linchpin for the first act bringing the level of concern of the viewer into it. Karen Jambon (Fortune Teller) really brought the commentary to personal level as the pivot point for Act II. And Andrew Matthews (Henry) scored on the emotional level bringing the reality of war, pain, and family home in the third act.

I heartily recommend spending a little time at the Vortex and enjoying this nice piece of work.
Cheers to Different Stages!

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , by nowplayingaustin. Bookmark the permalink.

About nowplayingaustin

The Austin Creative Alliance is a nonprofit performing arts service organization working to cultivate an environment where the performing arts can grow and flourish. We serve over 130 arts organizations with marketing, ticketing, audience development services; AEA paymaster, information & referral services — plus access to affordable health, liability, and event insurance. We also provide online professional development seminars, fiscal sponsorship services for emerging arts groups, host annual unified general auditions, annual theatre industry awards, and consistently advocate for the many benefits the arts bring to our quality of life.

Leave a comment